top of page

Search Results

8459 items found for ""

Other Pages (2572)

  • Film Reviews and Movie Trailers | UK Film Review

    FILM REVIEWS UK UK Film Review is a film reviews website based in London, UK. We promote films and movie trailers from around the world and support indie films that would usually find it hard to find the spotlight against the bigger films of cinema. From the latest blockbusters, to small indie cinema, we tackle as many films as we can. Reviewing them from all aspects, not just how many digital landscapes they blow up using CGI. We also review short films in the UK and internationally, helping filmmakers to promote their movies and raise their profile. If you would like to have a short or indie film reviewed by us, please submit all info using the button below. Take a look around, enjoy the spoils of filmmaking, film festivals and artistic expression. Our merry band of film critics are constantly hard at work, writing film reviews, or watching movie trailers for some of the most exciting movies coming out in UK cinemas. So to keep their morale up, please be nice...or at least funny if you choose to troll. Because, in the immortal words of Rick Moranis in the movie Spaceballs, "Keep firing A**holes!". By the way, on this film reviews website, you may see several references to Spaceballs. If you have not seen that classic Mel Brooks film, you MUST seek it out and tell us what you think. SUBMIT YOUR FILM Are You a Film Podcast Fan? Film critics Chris Olson and Brian Penn host a monthly podcast for all types of film fans! ​ Whether you like the latest blockbuster releases, or streaming is your thing - we have you covered. ​ We even review short and independent films on the podcast. ​ Our final review is usually for a "Nostalgia" pick - something from the past worth revisiting. Previous picks for this have included Jaws, The Fly, and Good Will Hunting. ​ Search UK Film Review Podcast wherever you like to listen and join our global community of film lovers. Film Reviews from UK film critics LATEST REVIEWS The Truth Seekers Coney Island Cousins Mammoth: Chasing the Rainbow: Chapter 8 Banal & Adama Chestnut Thelma Someone Dies! It's Always That Feeling Staggered The Bikeriders Out of Time Small Showers Load More

  • The Truth Seekers Review | Film Reviews

    HOME | FILMS | REVIEWS The Truth Seekers Film Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Critic: Patrick Foley | Posted on: Jun 23, 2024 Directed by: Nick Fuller Written by: Nick Fuller Starring: Robin Kristoffy, Gehane Strehler, Daniel Tatarsky Nick Fuller probably couldn’t believe his luck that the release of short film The Truth Seekers coincided with the recently announced general election. Elections always drag up crackpots, conspiracy theorists and fantasists (and that’s just the Conservative Party), and the media’s engagement with such hostile actors is a growing subject of debate. Fuller’s film presents the debate between new and old media in the form of hostile TV interview – with an intriguing if cynical critique of the true relationship between them. Current affairs show ‘Here & Now with Stephen Yardley’ needs a controversial guest to spike ratings. Step forward conspiracy peddling Marissa Rawlings (Gehane Strehler), a well-spoken fringe figure who urges rejection of ‘mainstream narratives’. Yardley (Daniel Tatarsky), with the help of his producer Hannah (Robin Kristoffy) take Rawlings to task and defend their medium. But each party has a hidden agenda at play. The Truth Seekers is something of a cynical movie for a cynical time. Instinctively, its premise of ‘both-siding’ mainstream media and crank conspiracy channels may build a few walls among its viewers. But the unravelling of the layers as the film progresses shows that Nick Fuller’s assessments of how the media landscape operates is considered and engaging. The role of producer Hannah in directing how she wishes the interview to go shows that there is often a hidden agenda behind most content presenting itself as balanced – certainly true of any rolling TV interview or big BBC piece that are always looking for angles that will make headlines. The film’s conclusion also reframes the story in such a way that viewers will want a second viewing (always a sign of a good twist), and feels especially relevant in a world where politicians who get the most screentime are usually the ones complaining about being ‘silenced’. Gehane Strehler is impressive as Rawlings – a TV-friendly conspiracy theorist the likes of which have infiltrated mainstream politics and social media in recent years to worrying effect. Without tying the character too tightly to any particular cause or belief, there are moments where she feels a little like a caricature. But Strehler’s steadfast, chilling self-belief means parallels are there from all kinds of modern commentariats. Tatarsky plays Yardley very much as a ‘company man’, a stuck-in-the-mud, BBC-lifer type who plays safe and to the script. Seeming out of his depth with Rawlings, he symbolises legacy media’s inability to handle the shapeshifting form of its new adversary. Whilst probably more of a cynical outlook on the media landscape than may be true in real-life, The Truth Seekers nails the reasoning of why public trust in the media is at an all-time low. The symbiotic relationship between fringe movements and established broadcasters in the race for more and more ratings is a more and more dangerous element of democracies all over the world. The Truth Seekers isn’t breaking entirely new ground, but a quick and slick short film exploring this, that cleverly keeps its cards close to its chest until the finale works well in this election year. If the film could be broadcast before the next time Nigel Farage is on Question Time, that would be great… About the Film Critic Patrick Foley Digital / DVD Release, Short Film < All Reviews Next Film Review >

  • Film Reviews | UK Film Review

    Film Reviews Here at UK Film Review we like to tackle all kinds film reviews. Our writers come from all walks of life, and feel passionate about critiquing the movies they watch. From the latest Theatrical Releases to Short Films, Indie Films, Documentaries and even Animation, the contributors of UK Film Review are as eager to please as Dev Patel in The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (2011). If you are a filmmaker, or are working in film PR and want to promote one of your clients, please get in touch using the Submit Your Film button under the drop-down menu for Home. Take a look at our list of film reviews below from some of the hottest releases in UK cinemas. Simply click the image of the review you would like, or the title of the movie. Or use the search button to find the movie you are looking for. We have given any feature length film a star rating (out of 5) in order to help viewers sort the Citizen Kanes from the Waterworlds, the Inceptions from the Transformers. Michael Bay will be given a fair film review from our writers, but that probably will not go in his favour. Speaking of Filmmakers, head over to our Filmmaker Features page for awesome articles about some of the best filmmaking geniuses who ever lived. Movie Trailers are also available, either underneath the film reviews, or on the Movie Trailers page. And lastly, if you like your film reviews verbalised. Simply because reading is boring and listening is marvellous, then make sure you Subscribe to the UK Film Review Podcast. Our critics offer up some banterous opinions on the best and worst movies across all genres. Head over to the Podcast page, or click this link to go straight to iTunes. If you would like to read or view any of the following, simply use the navigation. Alternatively, you can click on one of the images to read the film reviews here, or simply have a ganders at the lovely movie artwork on display. Remember to listen to film reviews on our regular film podcast. GET REVIEWED average rating is 4 out of 5 The Truth Seekers Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Banal & Adama Read Review average rating is 3 out of 5 Chestnut Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Thelma Read Review average rating is 2 out of 5 It's Always That Feeling Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 The Bikeriders Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Second Thought Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Inside Out 2 Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Ride Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Kill Your Lover Read Review average rating is 4 out of 5 Hit Man Read Review average rating is 2 out of 5 The Watchers Read Review Chris Olson Mar 8 2 min Film Podcast - Dune: Part 2 Chris Olson Mar 1 3 min Film Podcast: George Clooney Rowing Biopic Scoops Film of the Month Jan 20, 2023 3 min TAR FILM REVIEW Taryll Baker Oct 13, 2022 2 min Empire of Light - Film Review Oct 11, 2022 3 min Bones and All LFF Review Oct 7, 2022 3 min White Noise (2022) LFF Review Sep 20, 2022 2 min Sanctuary TIFF Review UK Film Review Sep 13, 2022 5 min FrightFest 2022 Highlights May 25, 2022 3 min Top Gun: Maverick Film Review Apr 23, 2022 3 min The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent Film Review Spoilers in our film reviews As with all digital forms of expression sometimes people may find something that upsets them online. Spoilers can often be one of these things! Whilst we do our best to ensure that major plot points, twists, character deaths and celebrity cameos are not found in our reviews, it can sometimes be difficult to judge what each and every film lover on the planet would to be a spoiler. If you feel that one of our film reviews contains one too many details then please do let us (politely) know using our social media platforms. We may then take serious action, such as expelling the critic responsible from this and every other movie publication past and present, declaring war against the studio for leading our writer into temptation, or we may do nothing at all. To be honest, it is most likely going to be the latter unless some serious rules have been broken. You may also see some movie trailers in our reviews that could also contain potential spoilers. In which case anyone who is hoping to avoid these should probably not click the play button on them. Or click the play button, turn the sound down on your device, then leave the room for a least 28 minutes whilst the trailer finishes and leaves your life naturally. You may be wondering what you could do with all 28 of those minutes! Why not read some more film reviews on another device? Or make a short film of your cat playing with a piece of string? Spend it wisely guys and gals.

View All

Blog Posts (5050)

  • Bird Drone Short Film Review

    ★★★★★ Directed by: #RadheyaJegatheva Short Film Review by: Alexandra James Bird Drone is a love story between an injured seagull and a human-operated drone with a short battery life. This short animation focuses on the theme of unrequited love and moving forward when relationships crumble, the idea of picking yourself back up and starting again. This can often be the best thing not only for your mental wellbeing but also fate, as you never know what is around the corner. The film also comments on the connection between humans and technology and highlights how the advancement within technology can sometimes take away from the actual experiences we have, as we lose what it means to be human by lacking that connection with both people and nature. Director Radheya Jegatheva is an Oscar-qualified and AACTA-nominated filmmaker from Perth and spent 3 years creating the animation Bird Drone, and this is certainly reflected with the level of detail, from the characters and their appearance to the narrative itself, a heartwarming but also bittersweet tale of love. The animation begins with a lonely seagull with a defective eye, looking longingly at the other seagulls who have found their mate for life. Wishing to find that connection too, the seagull seeks out a partnership with a drone that happens to be flying over and its camera looks very similar to the gull’s own eye injury! With a common bond found, the pair fly off into the sky overlooking the crystal-clear sea and sharing beautiful moments together. Unfortunately, this friendship quickly diminishes as the drone begins to lose power and plummets into the ocean. As the story transpires, the bird learns that all is not as it seems when confronted with the controller of the drone.  The narrative includes the highs and lows that comes with relationships and navigating our way through hard times. It’s clear that Jegatheva focuses on the full scope of emotions, as well as the aftereffects of the relationship. It was fascinating to see that without a single word of dialogue the audience can relate and connect with the seagull and witness the development of a newfound friendship. The imagery and colours used within this animation were mesmerising and allowed the viewer to become completely swept away within the tale. It was an exceptionally moving short film and rather nostalgic in a way, especially for those that enjoy the classic Pixar animations, I would very much liken this piece to that standard and quality. Director Radheya Jegatheva’s innovative imagination shines through and it is apparent that his dedication to the cause has paid off with such a beautiful film that can appeal to those of all ages.

  • Ain’t my Vibe Short Music Video Review

    ★★★ Directed by: #VikiYoung Starring: #MichelleDowd Short Film Review by: Alexandra James Ain’t My Vibe is a music video starring Michelle Dowd as lead singer. The video begins with a ‘f**k you’ to all the men that have never loved her back, a strong message to start with and sets the audience up for the overall tone of the video and song. The meaning of the song speaks to a lot of single women and men and the difficulties of journeying through the dating world. With access to lots of dating apps like Tinder, Bumble and Hinge, many people use today, this song becomes extremely relatable as we jump on an endless cycle of dates that seem to go nowhere. Many single people everywhere have been a very similar position as we attempt to build a relationship and date others but sadly, they sometimes become cut short as we quickly learn they may not be ‘our vibe’ or values just are not able to align. The song itself is catchy, relatable and can speak to the masses, especially avid daters. The video was down to earth, in that it showed Michelle Dowd in her own home, texting and reaching out to her potential date but is left unread. There is a big juxtaposition in terms of the aesthetic of the video as at first the audience see Michelle in her own home in dark clothing, singing and some cut shots to her in a bathtub fully clothed but in black and white which did create a mysterious feel and made for some emotional scenes. However, the scenes also included very bright locations and Michelle in a colourful outfit which took away from the overall theme of the song, it made the video look a bit disjointed and clunky as the moving back and forth between these scenes did not match up and created an almost amateurish feel. With a music video like this, I believe it’s important to have consistency throughout to keep the message clear and focus on the lyrics. Of course, diverse scenes are apparent, however, they do need to maintain a similar feel to avoid losing that powerful message. This was a good song that can be a voice for many, the video that accompanies it can be improved with some tweaks here and there so that lead singer Michelle Dowd and her words are seen as the main focal point allowing the audience to absorb but also feel the lyrics and have that connection with her, and as a character we can all relate to.

  • Surprise Short Film Review

    ★★ Directed by: #LuckyRathore Starring: #AbhayRathore, #SomyaRathore, #RahulIndoria Short Film Review by: Alexandra James Surprise is a short horror film that follows a young painter who lives alone in a secluded house when a sinister wooden box appears on his doorstep. The painter begins to inspect the box and prise it open, only to unleash an evil force that lies within. The story takes a turn, as the painter struggles to determine reality and fantasy, as he becomes haunted by horrors of his past. Directed by Lucky Rathore, this short is filled with anticipation and attempts to raise the hairs on the back of our necks by delving into themes of nightmares and dark entities. Horror films can be very much hit and miss, often people are not a fan of the genre because it does tend to spill out a lot of clichés and struggle to provide a new and exciting twist or turn in events. I have seen a lot of horror films, and it is one of my favourite genres, however, I believe that the mark of a good horror is originality but still paying homage to a lot of classics we know and love. Surprise did attempt to nod a cap of appreciation to horrors and thrillers that came before it. With a secluded location, a dark and mysterious box left waiting on the doorstep, and a fearful entity that accidentally becomes released, these are all key ingredients for a reasonably good horror film we can invest in. However, it is that creativity or unique flare from a director that propels the film into one of the greats and a perfect addition to the genre. The film lacked diverse scenes and was extremely difficult to follow. If it was not for the synopsis, I do not believe I would have been able to understand the concept entirely. The film itself was also exceptionally dark so it made certain scenes challenging to grasp. In addition, it was not clear that a dark entity had escaped this mysterious box, there needed to be a shift in tempo. That fear and trepidation did not seem to overcome the painter at all, and so the audience are left in this state of the unknown. There is a build-up within the narrative but unfortunately, there is no form of relief or twist that keeps us engaged, the story ends up with no real direction or an ending that manages to tie everything together. Surprise requires some development  in terms of it narrative, a horror does not just involve creating a creepy and tense atmosphere there needs to be a story driving the piece forward, giving the audience something new and fresh. Often there is a repetition of storylines amongst horror films, so it is important to show us something that has not been done before, or even a twist to a classic. It will be fascinating to see director Lucky Rathore, create more stories, and generate that climactic twist that leaves viewers wanting more.

View All

Forum Posts (806)

View All
bottom of page