top of page

Freshman Year


A Film By Cooper Raiff

Starring Dylan Gelula, Cooper Raiff, Amy Landecker, Logan Miller and Olivia Welch

(Previously titled: Shithouse)


The Grand Jury Prize

SXSW Film Festival 2020

Cooper Raiff's funny, honest semi-autobiographical romantic comedy won the Grand Jury Prize at this year's SXSW Film Festival. Cooper casts himself as a sensitive, emotional leading man struggling to adapt to a world of house parties and dorm life.

Lonely college freshman Alex has closed himself off from his peers, who all appear to have this whole "college thing" figured out. But everything changes one night when Alex takes a leap and attends a party at Shithouse – a legendary party fraternity – where he forges a strong connection with Maggie. The next day, she ignores him completely and seems to have forgotten about their amazing night. Desperately clinging to his social breakthrough, Alex pulls out all the stops with one more party, hoping to rekindle that moment of connection.

bottom of page